Sign in

Staff, Trustees & Volunteers

Meet our team and find out who is responsible for our work.

Staff and volunteers complete new boardwalk at Gosforth Park Nature Reserve

We currently employ a Director (full-time), an Archivist (part-time) and an Administrator (part-time). Our Reserve Warden is an unpaid role. The majority of the Society’s work is undertaken by dedicated Society members in a voluntary capacity. If you are interested in volunteering with the Society, please see our volunteer opportunities page.

The Society is governed by a Council of Trustees, who are all members of the Society and play an active role in its work. We have around 20 Trustees. Elections to our Council take place once a year at our Annual Meeting.


Clare Freeman


June Holmes


Hazel Makepeace

Admin & support officer

Paul Drummond

Reserve Warden (unpaid)


Janet Angel

Mid-week Botany Section

Andy Atkinson

Marketing, Nature Reserve Committee

Stella Chambers

Vice President, Library Committee

Prof. Peter Davis

Vice President. Museum Board

Prof. Jim Edwardson

Newcastle University

Jonathan Hewitt

Chairperson, legal

Dr Les Jessop

Chair of the Library Committee

Brian Kram


Prof. David Leat

Education, Bird Ringing Group

Steve Lowe

Mammal Section

Dr Angus Lunn

Vice President, Botany Section

Chris Metherell

Botany Section.

Dr Chris Redfern

Publications Editor, Bird Ringing Group

Prof. John Richards

Botany Section, Newcastle University

Dr Janet Simkin

Botany Section

Prof. Jimmy Steele

Newcastle University.

Derek Teasdale

Geology Section

Michael Turner

Tony Tynan

Vice President, former museum curator